Donate Button


Contact Us

About Us


Our History

In 1985, Access Independence (Ai) was formed as one of seventeen Centers for Independent Living (CILs) in Virginia. Ai began providing independent living skills training, peer mentoring, information and referral, and advocacy services to the counties of Clarke, Frederick, Page, Shenandoah, Warren, and the City of Winchester.  Ai has served thousands of residents, throughout the region, with disability related issues and provided thousands of hours supporting and educating our community on disability related topics.

Read more about our history...

Learn more about our services

Our Mission

Our mission is to promote independent living by providing services and resources that enhance the quality of life for people with disabilities living in Virginia’s Northern Shenandoah Valley.

Our Vision

We have the vision of a barrier-free community for all individuals to achieve their greatest potential.

Join our community!

Make a difference and help us promote independent living.

Our Value

We live our values;

We are people with disabilities empowering people with disabilities;

We believe in being ethical and having integrity;

We believe in treating people with respect and dignity;

We believe in the principles of equal rights, access, and opportunities for all.


Donald K. Price

Executive Director

Dana Jenkins

Independent Living Specialist

Maria Diaz

Independent Living Program Supervisor

Donna Day

TAP Specialist

for the

Deaf & Hard of Hearing

Karen Shubert

Accounting/Operations Supervisor

Virginia McInturff

Support Services Specialist

Shentelle Harris

Information & Referral Specialist

John DeHaven

Information Technology Specialist

Rob Alkire

Research Assistant/Social Media

Roseanne Campbell

Service Facilitator Supervisor

Holly Hickman

Independent Living Specialist/Service facilitator

Stephanie Pine

Independent Living Specialist/Service facilitator

Kellie Primus

Independent Living Specialist/Service facilitator

Board of Directors


Louise Garrett

Vice President

Paul Masterson


Lisa Boone


Timothy Knight

Sydney Sharp


Michael Murrow